What a busy, crazy, wonderful week

Last weekend, my husband and I were driving home from the commissary with a car full of groceries.  As we neared the house, we saw an armored vehicle pull out of the local shopping center and head into a residential area.  It looked like the vehicles we’ve seen on Discovery Channel’s Storm Chasers, so we followed the vehicle and greeted the occupants when they stopped.

It turned out that it was the same vehicle, the Tornado Intercept Vehicle 2 (TIV2) driven by Sean Casey and friends!

We learned that the entire crew was going to a local restaurant later on that night to help raise funds for the Joplin, Missouri tornado victims, so we went home and dropped off the food.  After feeding the kids, Sweetie and I grabbed our nine-year-old son, William, and went downtown in search of the TIV.  When we found the vehicle, William suddenly developed a severe case of shyness.  After all, he watches Storm Chasers every chance he gets, and he’s a huge meteorology buff.  These guys are William’s heroes!  It took some coaxing from one of the drivers of the TIV to get William to come out of his shell a little bit, but by the end of our time there, he was feeling more confident.  Not enough to talk to Sean, but enough that he was able to shake hands with him.

Several days later, on Friday, I was able to meet Eleanor Burns, the woman behind the Quilt in a Day books that I’ve been using since I made my second quilt in 1989.  She was very nice, but she had to ask me for clarification when I told her that I’ve made quilts for all nine of my children using her books.  “Did you say nine children?”  One of these days, I need to make a gift album for her, showing her all of the quilts I made thanks to her and her techniques.

When I arrived home from my road trip that day, I checked my e-mail, expecting to see a rejection notice from NASA.  I had registered for their shuttle launch Tweetup event, scheduled for July 7-8, but with something like 5,500 applicants applying for 150 positions, I didn’t expect to be selected.  Lo and behold, there was an e-mail with the subject line:

STS-135 NASA Tweetup CONFIRMATION

I could NOT believe it!  I had the read the e-mail several times to make sure I was reading it correctly.  After all, I really wanted to be selected, and it was possible that my mind was playing tricks on me.  Sure enough, it was real.  And I’m going to see the launch of Atlantis next month!

Leave a Reply

